Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Week 1: Eat More Vegetables

Vegetables

I have never been one to avoid leafy greens or even Brussels sprouts, but  eating enough vegetables has always been a struggle. Recently, I have begun to eat more fruits. This week I will aim to eat 3-4 vegetables each day. According to the USDA’s new food pyramid Americans should strive to cover half of their plates with fruits and vegetables. I’m used to only eating vegetables as a part of dinner and usually they only cover about 1/4 to 1/3 of my plate (clearly I have some work to do). The USDA recommends that a woman of my age group eat 2 1/2 cups of these fresh foods each day (find out the amount you should be eating here). I certainly can’t deny the many benefits of eating a variety of fresh vegetables each day. This week I will focus on cooking (and posting) some delicious recipes that include as many veggies as possible. I will let you know about my progress as the week goes on. Feel free to post or link to any of your favorite recipes that include colorful produce. As you can already see, I picked up some conventional and organic vegetables from my local grocery store and I can’t wait to start experimenting in the kitchen.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

