Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Meatless Monday: Vegetarian Chili That will Even Lure a Meat-lover into the Kitchen

The final product!

The final product!

I will be the first to admit, that in the past, my attempts at chili have been less than successful. Each time I would make chili there would be a new problem. Once it was not spicy enough (so it was pretty much like meat sauce). On another occasion, I overcooked the meat and it went downhill from there. The last time I made chili it came out great, but it had meat in it and now I’m trying to eat meat-free. I thought I’d try my hand at making vegetarian chili. The verdict: better than any meat chili I’ve enjoyed in the past. It was satisfying and it didn’t leave me hungering for more after one serving. I topped this vegetarian dish with fresh avocado pieces. The creamy texture of the avocado mellowed out the spicy chili. The best part about this recipe that it was easy. It was so versatile and I could see adding more veggies (if you desired). Try this vegetarian recipe if you’re looking for an easy week night meal that will fill you up long after you finish the bowl.

chili 2 chili 3 chili 4

 

Ingredients & directions for vegetarian chili that will even steal a meat-lover’s heart: 

*Serves 6-8 people (or 2 with lots of leftovers for lunch!)

1 tbsp olive oil

3 cloves of garlic, diced (if I’d had an onion I would have thrown that in there too)

1 large jalapeno, diced (or 3 small ones)

1/4 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp of garlic powder

2 cans of organic fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 jar of chipolte salsa or the salsa of your choice (I used some from Trader Joe’s)

1 can of pinto beans (or about 1 1/4 cup)

1 can of black beans (or about 1 1/4 cup)

2 cups of frozen sweet corn

1- Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat (keep the stove set at medium heat throughout the entire cooking process). Add the garlic and let it sizzle until it begins to brown around the edges.

2- Then add in the jalapeno pieces. Stir the pepper and garlic together. Let the peppers cook for about 1-2 minutes before adding all of the beans and canned tomatoes. Add the spices at this time too. I also added the salsa and then finally added the corn. Let the mixture bubble on the stove for about 30 – 45 minutes. Top with avocado pieces or plain Greek yogurt (if you like sour cream – without the fat). I dipped tortilla chips in mine and I didn’t miss the meat one bit.

Do you have any delicious chili  recipes that you’d like to share? Feel free to share them below. Enjoy the recipe – it’s one that you’ll want leftovers of.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

