Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Veggie Pizza with a Cauliflower Crust

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

Today was one of those days that just felt crazy at work. I left with a headache. The cacophony of young voices I’d heard all day didn’t seem to go away. I came home and I new I needed some comfort food. Instead of thinking about the stress I was feeling, I listened to Jack Johnson as I danced around the kitchen making my peculiar cauliflower pizza. The scent of garlic filled the air in the kitchen, which became warm with the heat from the oven. The aroma that came baking this pizza did not even compare to the taste. The gooey cheese covered a red bell pepper and zucchini mixture, which sat atop a thin spongy crust of cauliflower dough. I know you must be questioning my decision to make cauliflower-crust pizza, but to be honest, I am already looking forward to eating my leftovers for lunch tomorrow. If you’re wondering how this could possibly taste like a pizza made in Naples, Italy or a thin crust New York style pie, well it doesn’t. The crust was more like that of a quiche texture (I used the egg to bind the cauliflower together). Not to say that I was disappointed. Believe me, I ate my fair share of this pizza tonight.

The versatile cauliflower, ready to be made into pizza crust.

     The versatile cauliflower, once just a side dish, now ready to be made into pizza crust.

Ingredients for a Veggie Pizza with Cauliflower Crust: 

*Adapted from PartTimeHealthNut.com

*Serves 3-4 and the recipe takes about 45 minutes of prep/cook time (less if you choose to prep the veggies the day before)

For the crust: 

1 tbsp of olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, diced

3/4 of a head of cauliflower, diced into 1/2 to 1/4 inch pieces

1/2 tsp of oregano

1/4 tsp of salt, basil, and garlic powder

2 eggs

1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese

For the toppings: 

3/4 cup of mozzarella cheese

1 tbsp of olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

Your choice of sauce and pizza toppings

1/4 tsp of garlic powder, oregano, basil, and hot pepper flakes

1 – First preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Then start chopping your cauliflower, which should be chopped into pieces that are the size of 1/4 to 1/2 of an inch. Chop your garlic also.

2 – Heat the frying pan. Once it’s hot, add the diced garlic. Just as the edges barely start to brown throw in the cauliflower. Stir the mixture around and add the spices. I put a lid on top and let it cook for about 8-10 minutes or until the cauliflower was softened.

Step 3: before and after mashing the cauliflower

Step 3: before and after mashing the cauliflower

3 – I took the cauliflower out of the skillet and put it in a mixing bowl. Since I don’t have a food processor, I used a potato masher to smash down the cauliflower mixture after cooking. Then it gets messy. After a couple of minutes, I added the eggs and Parmesan cheese (to ensure I wouldn’t cook the eggs I waited until the mixture cooled down for a few minutes).

This was the crust before baking it and after baking it (& then loading it with vegetable toppings).

This was the crust before baking it and after baking it (& then loading it with vegetable toppings).

4- Line your baking pan with parchment paper (to ensure it won’t stick to the pan). Then spread the mixture on top of the parchment paper (make sure you spread it around evenly. Bake it for about 20-25 minutes. Mine began to become golden brown at about 20 minutes and I took it out immediately to ensure that it wouldn’t burn. During this time, cut up your toppings and add them to a skillet with olive oil and garlic slices. Then add the spices. Don’t overcook the vegetables (they should still be slightly crisp).

5 – Spread your sauce on top of the toasty crust. Then add your choice of vegetable toppings and cheese. Let it bake for another 5-10 minutes. (Just make sure to watch it so the crust doesn’t burn).

I had just as much fun making this nontraditional pizza as I did eating it. Food should be fun, as well as delicious. What tasty creative recipes have you cooked lately?

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

