Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Sweet Sunday: Nearly Crisp Banana Chips

My first try at banana chips!

My first try at banana chips (pre-flip).

I was in need of a healthy sweet Sunday afternoon snack, I looked no further than the ripe (but not bruised) bananas on the counter. On a whim, I decided to try to make banana chips based a recipe I pinned on Pinterest. The first time, the chips were a little moist, even after letting them cool. They were slightly sweet, with hints of nutmeg. The second time I decided to cut the slices thinner and look up more information about making banana chips. Apparently I needed to put them back in the oven for another 2 hours after I flipped them the first time. This second time I made them, they came out more crisp. I also added cinnamon and enjoyed the warm spiced flavor paired with the mellow flavor of the baked banana slices. Next time I will cut the slices even thinner to ensure that all of them are crisp. The verdict: if you cut the slices thin they will come out as light and delicious banana crisps (with a slight caramel flavor and color).

The unbruised bananas ready to become chips.

The ripe bananas that became a delicious snack.

Ingredients and directions for banana crisps: 

*Serves 1 (1 banana per person – the slices shrink down as you cook them)

*Cook time: 2 hours per side

1 banana

1/2 of a lemon, juiced

1/4 tsp of cinnamon, nutmeg, or both depending on your preferences

Ready for the oven (for reference - this size is still too thick, as I found out on my first attempt).

Ready for the oven (for reference – this size is still too thick, as I found out on my first attempt).

1- Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Then slice the banana very thin (less than 1/4 of an inch thick – maybe an 1/8 of an inch).

2- Coat the slices in the lemon juice. I poured the lemon juice in a bowl and tossed the slices with it. Then sprinkle with the spice of your choice.

3- Cook the first side for about 2 hours, then flip the slices. Cook for about 2 more hours. Take the chips off of the pan to air out on a cookie rack for about 15 minutes (or until moisture is gone). Enjoy!

Ultimately, this was an easy and enjoyable snack that tasted great when the chips were crisp!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

