Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Savory Pesto and Fresh Tomato Quinoa

 

pesto quinoa

After stirring in a sweet basil pesto, mild-tasting quinoa became flavorful. The aroma of basil filled the kitchen. For texture, small cubes of a creamy avocado were added, as well as a small diced tomato. The pasta-like dish was even tasty as a cold salad for lunch the next day. For filling and fresh eats, read on below for the recipe.

Ingredients for savory pesto and fresh tomato quinoa: 

*Serves 4

1 cup of quinoa, rinsed

2 cups of water

1/4 tsp of salt, pepper, and garlic powder

1/3 of a cup of fresh pesto

1 organic tomato, diced

1/2 of an avocado, pitted and diced

1/2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

pine nuts (to sprinkle over the top)

1- Pour the quinoa and water into a sauce pan over medium heat. When the water starts to boil lower the heat to medium low. The quinoa should be done in about 12 minutes.

2- While the quinoa is cooking, add the spices and stir. Then dice the tomato and avocado.

3- When the quinoa is soft and all of the water has been absorbed, add all of the other ingredients. Stir the quinoa mixture up and serve hot or cold. Top with pine nuts to add a slight crunch and buttery flavor.

Quinoa might be my new favorite food. It is so versatile and healthy!

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Savory Pesto and Fresh Tomato Quinoa

  1. beckyblueeyes on said:

    I love quinoa, too! It’s one of the few items on my “can eat” list right now during my cleanse. Can’t get enough! I have some recipes on my site, too. 🙂 Tonight’s dinner was quinoa and kale with a smidge of coconut curry sauce. So easy, so good!

    • That sounds amazing & very healthy! I’ve never made coconut curry sauce, but it sounds like it would pair well with that meal. I checked out your site and you have some great looking recipes on there. I can’t wait to give them a try – the pumpkin pancakes especially caught my eye 🙂

      • beckyblueeyes on said:

        Thanks so much! I think my cooking mantra is generally: how fast and healthy can I make this while still being fabulous and guilt-free? On off nights, I totally reach for frozen pizza, not going to lie!

        • I feel the same. I want to eat fabulous-tasting food that is healthy and doesn’t require hours of standing in the kitchen. Of course I have my off nights too – usually I do breakfast for dinner. I don’t think you can ever go wrong with breakfast food. Except for the one time my fiancee put adoboe in scrambled eggs – that wasn’t the best choice.

          • beckyblueeyes on said:

            What’s adoboe?! Breakfast for dinner sounds sooo good! When I get off this cleanse, I’ll freely eat eggs and bacon again. 🙂 I’ll try to remain gluten free and processed sugar free, as much as possible. So far, I like it. How long have you been gluten free?

            • Woops! *Adobo – It is a Spanish spice that can be used to season meat and fish. It has a variety of good tasting spices in there. Being gluten-free definitely doesn’t come naturally to me (I’ve always been a grain lover), but I’m enjoying the challenge of cooking gluten-free foods and I never really feel hungry or deprived. I think I will try to keep it up too! So far I am also trying to avoid processed sugar, but I am using agave nectar and sucanat sugar for baking. I have only been gluten-free for one week! Last week I ruined my first week by having a St. Patrick’s Day beer. It didn’t even occur to me not to drink it at the time. How long have you been GF? Do you feel better in general? I think I do.

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

