Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Green Smoothies Three Ways

smoothies

 

Over the years I’ve gone through boxes of Cheerios, Trix, Fruit Loops, Quaker oatmeal, Kashi cereals, and more. I’ve also had enjoyable weekend breakfasts that consisted of eggs over-medium with toast or fluffy, fruit-topped pancakes. This week, I decided to make a radical change to my normal breakfast, which is usually cereal with fruit. I made green breakfast smoothies. These frothy concoctions contained heart healthy flax seeds, potassium-rich bananas, iron-filled spinach, and nondairy milk, as well as a few other feel-good ingredients. Whether it was a banana, blueberry, or mixed berry shake, it filled me up and kept my energy levels high until lunch time. I can not say enough about how amazing I felt all week after consuming these green drinks. I am a convert! I was inspired by the recipe I found on Radiance, which is also full of good-for-you ingredients. I have been feeling happier and more lively lately. I attribute some of those good feelings to these deliciously-smooth drinks. They take a bit longer to make than cereal and milk, but it is more than worth it.

Not only did I help lower my cholesterol by consuming nutty flax seeds, but I also had a two servings of fruit and one of leafy greens before 9:00 am. On top of that, these smoothies tasted lightly sweet, with a fruity finish. I have the power to change the course of my high cholesterol. Why should I sit by and consume butter and other unhealthy foods, when I can make lifelong changes to improve my health? We all have the power to change how we feel. Why not take the chance on your health? Make a healthy adjustment. See if any positive results come your way. I doubt you will regret it.

Lately, I’ve been more aware of my body and whether it feel s good, bad, or right (if you haven’t read Gretchen Rubin’s post on happiness and feeling good, feeling bad, or feeling right, I highly recommend it!). I have noticed how much better I’ve been feeling – I attribute it to all of the positive things I’ve been doing for myself. To that – I raise my green smoothie-filled glass. Cheers! Find the smoothie recipes below.

smoothies 2

Ingredients for blueberry banana smoothies (my personal favorite):

1 cup of almond milk (*look for a brand without carrageenan, which can have negative health effects – I used Whole Foods 365 brand)

1 tbsp of flax seeds, ground

1 tsp of green SuperFood by Amazing Grass (*not necessary if you don’t have it on hand)

1 – 2 handfuls of spinach, washed

1/2 of a banana (frozen if you like)

1/2 cup of frozen or fresh organic blueberries

Ingredients for banana spinach smoothies: 

1 cup of almond milk (*look for a brand without carrageenan, which can have negative health effects – I used Whole Foods 365 brand)

1 tbsp of flax seeds, ground

1 tsp of chia seeds, ground

1 tsp of green SuperFood by Amazing Grass (*not necessary if you don’t have it on hand)

1 – 2 handfuls of spinach, washed

1/2 of a banana (frozen if you like)

Ingredients for banana berry smoothies: 

1 cup of almond milk (*look for a brand without carageenan, which can have negative health effects – I used Whole Foods 365 brand)

1 tbsp of flax seeds, ground

1 tsp of chia seeds

1 tsp of green SuperFood by Amazing Grass (*not necessary if you don’t have it on hand)

1 – 2 handfuls of spinach, washed

1/2 of a banana (frozen if you like)

1/2 cup of frozen or fresh berry mix

Directions: 

1- Pour in the liquid first. Then add the chia and flax seeds, as well as the green superfood.

2- Add the handfuls of spinahch. Then top the spinach with the berries and banana (to weigh it down).

3- Blend until smooth!

What positive changes have you made lately? As a result, how do you feel?

*Recently I discovered Oh She Glows – what a phenomenal blog! I linked to her green monster smoothie recipe, which I’d like to try next!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Green Smoothies Three Ways

  1. Im so stoked they’ve made a positive difference for you. Isnt it amazing how good you can feel by making little changes. Congrats and again, Im pleased you’re having more energy and feeling better. Try green juicing next its even better 😉

    • I saw a documentary on juicing and I have been wanting to try it since then. Glad to hear that it can get even better than smoothies because I already feel great after drinking them!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

