Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Sweet Sunday: Vegan and Gluten-Free Chocolate Banana Scones

chocolate banana scones

I’m sure that anyone who is gluten-free can attest to the fact that gluten-free baking can be tricky at times. Recently, I’ve been discouraged in my attempts to bake gluten-free treats. I attempted to make a cornmeal cobbler topping without a recipe and it was a disaster. It was dry and flavorless. Then, I got the Babycakes NYC cookbook and I tried to make spelt biscuits with all purpose gluten-free flour, needless to say the baked goods came out with a less than pleasant flavor (as she explicitly warns to follow the recipe, but I have always been bad at following the rules).

Before I gave up on baking delicious gluten-free treats, I decided I would give it another try. I’ve heard that many gluten-free processed products have a lot of added sugar and/or fat, so I thought I would try to make my own baked goods before giving in to paying six dollars for a box of processed crackers or cookies. This time, the end product was well worth the effort and the cost of the ingredients. Even my meat eating family members gobbled up the goodies at my grandma’s 84th birthday party. I even had a few recipe requests. Now that’s when you know you’ve done well, when people go out of their way to ask you for a recipe. This one is definitely a keeper!

The chocolate-banana scones had the slight flavor of bananas underneath the flavor of warm, semi-sweet chocolate chips. These scones were dense. Their taste was rich, but their calorie count shouldn’t be too high seeing as I used almond milk, agave nectar, and a small amount of chocolate chips. Of course I had to throw in a few more morsels than the recipe called for, but I’m a self-proclaimed chocoholic. I eat a small piece each night after dinner. Supposedly dark chocolate has health benefits and can positively affect your mood, so I’m on board with that research!

Have any of you had trouble with gluten-free cooking or baking? Baking has always come naturally to me, but I’m not used to having to use new flours and xantham gum. The flavors of the flours are quite different from the average white or wheat flour. These scones weren’t too out of my element because they called for oat and coconut flour. Baking gluten-free goodies is a challenge, but it’s one I’m willing to take on. It makes the success even sweeter.

Vegan and gluten-free chocolate and banana scones: 

*Recipe from Family Fresh Cooking

*Makes 8 large triangular scones or 16 small triangular scones (personally I’m going with the bigger is better theory here, more scone = more chocolate)

1/2 cup of coconut flour (though I would modify this to 1/4 cup plus one tablespoon because the coconut flour sucks up a lot of liquid and they may end up slightly more moist with less coconut flour)

1 cup of oat flour (I used a GF variety from Bob’s Red Mill)

1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

1/8 tsp of sea salt

1 tsp of baking soda

1 large banana, pureed or mashed

3 ounces (or 1/4 + 1/8 of a cup) of almond milk (or your choice of milk, she recommends coconut milk)

6 tablespoons of light agave nectar

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1/3 cup of vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips, plus more for sprinkling

Directions: 

1- Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Then line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2- Mix all of the dry ingredients and the chocolate chips together with a whisk.

3- Mash the banana and then mix it with the other wet ingredients.

4- Add the wet ingredients to the dry. Mix until everything is incorporated into the stiff batter. Then put the batter on the parchment-lined baking sheet.

5- Form the dough into a ball. Then, press the dough down until it forms a circular shape. Press it down until the dough is about 3/4 of an inch high. Then slice into eight pieces. Separate the pieces on the baking sheet before baking and top each scone with a few more chocolate chips. Bake for about 12 minutes. *I gently cut the scones in half after baking so there would be more pieces to serve at my grandma’s birthday party, but the pieces are a good size already if you aren’t serving too many people.

Do you have any favorite gluten-free dessert recipes? Have there been any gluten-free or wheat treat disasters in your kitchen yet?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Sweet Sunday: Vegan and Gluten-Free Chocolate Banana Scones

  1. looks delicious 🙂

      • 🙂 I like that you made the sweet gluten free too 🙂

        • Thank you! You know what I love about some gluten-free flours? I feel like they add in more health benefits. The coconut flour added some fiber and there isn’t anything wrong with that. I didn’t even feel guilty about eating them, which is an amazing feeling for a dessert-lover!

          PS I plan on trying your potato recipe this week when I make vegan fajitas. Mmm…

          • That’s magic 😉 I have to try the gluten free flours I have heard they can be difficult to work with sometimes. I like desserts and I am trying to find some healthy desserts as I believe you can make them. Sounds good with vegan fajitas 😉 enjoy !!!!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

