Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Week 6: Adding Cholesterol-Lowering Healthy Fats into my Diet

Avocado

I am an anti-drug type of girl. I don’t like being prescribed pills. Sometimes I am really naughty and I won’t even take prescribed drugs the doctor ordered. Something about taking medicine just doesn’t feel right to me. It just doesn’t seem natural, not to mention the number of side effects that can come with taking prescription medications. If I feel minor discomfort, usually I let it pass. Tylenol isn’t even in my medicine cabinet.

Naturally, I am against taking statin drugs to lower my cholesterol. If there is a lifestyle-change that can be made to lessen or reverse a medical issue, that is the first way I will try to solve the problem. This week I aim to increase my consumption of cholesterol-lowering fats known as monounsaturated fatty acids and essential fatty acids. Last week, I added more flax into my diet (mostly in deliciously purple-colored “green” smoothies), which contain omega 3 fatty acids, which are one type of essential fatty acid (EFA). Other foods are also high in these types of fats like walnuts, which can also help lower cholesterol. While the benefits of decreasing cholesterol in this way are only modest, it is certainly a start in beginning to give my body what it needs to become healthier. Bring on the almonds and foods with plant-based fats such as avocados, peanut butter, olive oil, sesame oil, nuts, and seeds. One thing to be careful of is over consumption of fats. Despite that these fats are considered healthy, they should still only remain a small portion of your total caloric intake (about 10 to 15% of your daily caloric intake).

For a recipe with cholesterol-lowering organic sesame oil, try making my vegetarian rice noodle stir fry.

*To understand more about why Omega 3 fatty acids are so important to our bodies, read this informative post by jennovafoodblog!

Sources: 

Prescription for Nutritional Healing: Fourth Edition by Phyllis, A. Balch, CNC.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Week 6: Adding Cholesterol-Lowering Healthy Fats into my Diet

  1. beckyblueeyes on said:

    I’m a big fan of olive oil and avocado. Huge. And I don’t feel bad using them every day as a healthy fat because they actually fill you up faster. That way I’m not snacking all day. Win-win.

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

