Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Week Seven: Avoiding Over-Consumption of Fats

My first jar of coconut oil. I chose the Whole Food's 365 brand, before delving into more expensive products (just wanted to make sure I liked using it - which I did).

For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to improve my diet by eating healthy fats with cholesterol lowering benefits. I have also completely stopped cooking with butter. In reading more about consuming healthy fats, I learned that good-for-you fats also need to be eaten in moderation. According to Prescription for Nutritional Healing, which was written by Phyllis Balch, CNC, fats should only make up about 10 to 20 percent of your total calories each day. If I aim to eat about 2,000 calories per day, that would be about 200 to 400 calories. This percentage really made me think about the fat sources I’m consuming and where I should limit myself. In two tablespoons of peanut butter there is about 200 calories, most of which come from fat. I don’t think I’ll be completely cutting out peanut butter or any other healthy fat source, but I will try to limit the amount I eat. I tend to be a snacker, so while I won’t over eat one food, I will eat many little snacks throughout the day and sometimes that includes cashews, walnuts, and pecans,. Time to start paying attention to what I’m actually eating (without getting crazy about counting calories or any unhealthy thoughts that can come along with paying attention to food).

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

