Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Double Chocolate Raspberry Delights

 

 chocolate raspberry delights 2

I have a confession to make. I’ve been eating dessert nearly every night since I made my vegan bananas foster. It was as if that sweet little number opened up the Pandora’s box of the desserts. In the past couple weeks, I’ve made almond joy bars, peanut butter chocolate chip cookies, and oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I also took it upon myself to polish off the vegan coconut vanilla ice cream left over from the bananas foster.

After making and eating all of those tasty desserts, I still felt a void in my stomach. I had a craving for chocolate that I just couldn’t get rid of. Tonight, I caved. I made double chocolate raspberry oat cookies. They were fudge-like and delicious. The richness of the chocolate cookie was balanced out by the tartness of the raspberries.  In short, they were everything (and more!) that a chocolate lover dreams of. The smell that came from the oven almost sent me into overdrive (and this was before I even tasted the cookies!).

Of course, I hadn’t originally intended to make these tasty little morsels. I had the Babycakes NYC cookbook out and I was looking at the recipe for raspberry scones. Could I have made regular raspberry scones and followed the recipe like a good little baker? Of course not. I wanted chocolate raspberry scones. As you can imagine, straying from a gluten-free (or in this case gluten-light) recipe can be difficult. Needless to say, those scones were not quite chocolaty enough. In fact, I would go so far as to say that the scones tasted bland. They also fell apart during baking, which was another reason they just weren’t meant to be. Immediately, I knew what had to be done. I had to make chocolate cookies. My oat based cookies hadn’t done me wrong yet, so I attempted to create a chocolate raspberry cookies that were full of flavor, moist, and somewhat healthy. They were a success!

chocolate raspberry delights

Ingredients for double chocolate raspberry delights:

* Makes about 16 cookies / Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1/2 of one ripe, large banana (not overripe), mashed

1/4 of a cup of light agave nectar

1 tbsp of refined coconut oil, melted

1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

a tiny sprinkle of sea salt

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

1 1/4 cups of rolled oats (I used GF rolled oats)

1/4 cup of vegan chocolate chips

3/4 cup of frozen or fresh raspberries (I used frozen)

Method:

1- Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2- In a mixing bowl, combine the mashed banana with the agave nectar, melted coconut oil, vanilla, salt, and cocoa powder.

3- Add the oats to the mixing bowl. When they are well coated by the wet ingredients, add the chocolate chips. Fold them in with a spatula. Then gently fold in the frozen raspberries.

4- When the mixture is well combined, form the cookies into balls that are about 1 – 1 1/2 inches across. Make sure the cookie is fully formed before placing it on the cookie sheet (just to make sure it doesn’t separate or fall apart during baking).

5- Cook for about 14 minutes or until the outside of the cookies begins to look more matte and less shiny.

chocolate raspberry delights 3

If you’re like me, you will have immediately eaten four cookies after removing them from the baking pan. Oh well, I’ll exercise self-control another day. For today, I’ll enjoy my raspberry chocolate oat cookies.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Raspberry Delights

  1. I can totally relate!! After making the banana “ice cream” I lost it. Totally lost it. Now I’m making all sorts of concoctions just to get my sweet fix. It’s not good. And yet… it’s SO good! These look ah-mazing, as always Miss Better Bites!

  2. I’d like to try these with the quinoa flakes I picked up! I used them the other day to make turkey meatballs, in place of bread (and flax seed mixed with water in place of egg). Great find, those quinoa flakes! You turned me onto them, didn’t you? If so, thank you! If not… try them?!

    • Yes, I did! I can’t wait to use the box I bought also. So far I’ve made breakfast bars with them and they were pretty good. Next I want to use them with breakfast. I can’t wait to see what else you use them in!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

