Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal Topped with Maple Pecan Granola

banana blueberry oatmeal

How many cereal slogans can you think of? It’s almost as if they’re catchy phrases have been burned into my brain permanently.  The one that comes most immediately, is Tony the Tiger’s “They’re great!” Wheaties, “Breakfast of champions,” slogan also comes to mind. While I didn’t have Wheaties for breakfast, my stomach feels satisfied after filling it with the banana-blueberry oatmeal I made this morning. I was pleased the oatmeal and granola combo went so well together because yesterday’s attempt at breakfast was a bit more lackluster.

It started out innocent enough, with me buying quinoa flakes a few weeks ago with high hopes of adding them to some healthy baked goods. On the box, it also said you could make a breakfast cereal out of the flakes. So I gave it a try. It wasn’t that I cooked the quinoa improperly, but the flakes just had less substance than the oatmeal. It was almost like having creamy polenta for breakfast. Even after adding bananas, light agave syrup, and cinnamon, it still tasted bland. It was like a thick banana soup consistency. Gross, right?

I could have given up on my banana oatmeal, but the maple pecan granola came out so well that I knew I had to persevere. The situation was similar to yesterday’s run. I opened our stained glass front door to a busy street. There were people exercising on the sidewalk away from the many cars driving by, while other people were doing yard work getting their front yards ready for spring. The warm spring day had attracted so many people outside. Yet, as I reached back to close the door handle, I felt the urge to go back inside. I felt like I didn’t want to run. I wanted something easy. It had been an emotional taxing day for the mister, as he found out his parent’s dog has cancer. I was feeling the weight of that situation and I just didn’t want to have to push myself, but then I thought “No, I have to do this for me.” That thought never really occurred to me before. Generally, as a woman I can tend to overburden myself with taking care of other people, but yesterday I decided to do something for myself. I didn’t give in when I wanted to quit.

In the end, I ran farther than I had this year. After not giving in to my initial urge to quit, I arrived home feeling uplifted having conquered a 3 mile loop. After tasting a bite of this morning’s banana-blueberry oatmeal, I felt similar to the way I had after yesterday’s run. I was glad not to have given up on this breakfast recipe. It turned out so tasty, that this recipe has earned a stay in my breakfast recipe rotation for a while to come!

Ingredients for maple pecan granola: 

*Yields about 2 1/2 cups of granola / Preheat the oven to 325 degrees

1 1/3  cup of rolled oats (I used GF rolled oats)

1/3 cup of dried, unsweetened coconut flakes

2/3 cup of pecans, chopped

1 1/2 tsp of cinnemon

1 tbsp virgin coconut oil, melted

1/3 cup of pure maple syrup

1 tsp of vanilla extract

Method: 

1- Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Then add your rolled oats, coconut, chopped pecans, and cinnamon to a mixing bowl. Mix the dry ingredients together.

2- Melt the virgin coconut oil either in a small pan or in the microwave. Add the Coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla  into a glass measuring cup. Stir once before pouring over the rolled oat mixture. Mix the oats with the wet ingredients, making sure all of the oats are coated.

3- Spread a thin layer of granola onto the parchment paper. Bake for 5 minutes, then stir the granola with a spatula. Cook for another 7-9 minutes. The granola is finished when the cereal on the edges of the pan starts to turn golden brown. Let the granola cool before using it (it will become crisper as it cools, it will still be slightly soft when it comes out of the oven).

Ingredients for banana-blueberry oatmeal: 

*Serves 2

3/4 cup of quick cooking oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF quick cooking oats)

1/4 cup of quinoa flakes (if you don’t have quinoa flakes, just use 1/4 cup more of the quick cooking oats)

A sprinkle of salt (roughly an 1/8 of a tsp)

1 ripe large banana, mashed

1/3 cup of organic frozen or fresh blueberries

1/2 tsp of cinnamon (I used a teaspoon of cinnamon, but I think I love it to an excess)

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1 tbsp of maple syrup

Method: 

1- Bring 1 cup of water to a rolling boil over medium-high heat. Then add the quick cooking oats and salt to the pot. Turn the heat down to medium-low, as you stir the mixture for a three minutes. Then add the quinoa flakes. Continue to stir the mixture.

2- When it has thickened to your liking, take the pot off the heat. Add the banana mash, blueberries, cinnamon, maple syrup, and vanilla. Serve immediately and top with maple pecan granola.

This tops my list as my new favorite version of oatmeal. The blueberries added a lot of flavor and a slightly purple hue to the oatmeal. Feel free to post feedback or a link to any of your favorite breakfast recipes!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal Topped with Maple Pecan Granola

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Goji Berry Crunch Granola | Better Bites

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

