Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Quick Pomegranite and Cacao Nib Oatmeal

cacao nib oatmeal

Forgive me if you disagree, but food is not just about flavor. It is about so much more than just taste. It’s also about aroma, texture, and presentation. This week, I popped my pomegranate arils cherry, so to speak. The arils were slightly sweet tasting, with a tart edge. What I enjoyed most, was how beautiful these cranberry-colored pomegranate pieces stood out visually. They provided a burst of both color and flavor.

I first tried them in a curly kale salad. I based my salad ingredients on both veghotpot‘s recent purple kale salad recipe and one by Running With Tweezers, which veghotpot linked to in her post. They added a crunchy texture to the salad, along with a tarte flavor, which was balanced out by the mildness of pine nuts I added.

After my first experience with eating pomegranate arils, I started to wonder what else could I use these little fruit covered seeds for. Not soon after I searched google hungrily looking for new recipes, did I find a blog post about overnight oatmeal with cacao nibs and pomegranate. I couldn’t resist making something else with my new cranberry-colored food obsession. Below, you’ll find my interpretation of Oh My Veggies original recipe for cacao nib and pomegranate overnight oats.

Ingredients for quick pomegranate and cacao nib oatmeal:

* Adapted from Oh My Veggies original recipe for cacao nib and pomegranate overnight oats

*Serves 1

1/2 cup of quick cooking oats

a pinch of salt (1/8 of a tsp or less)

1 tsp of maple syrup

1/4 tsp of vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp of almond milk

1 tbsp of unsweetened coconut flakes (you can easily omit this ingredient if you don’t have coconut)

1 tsp of vegan chocolate chips or vegan chocolate, chopped

2 tbsp pomegranate arils

1 tsp of cacao nibs (I used Navitas Naturals brand)

Method: 

Heat 1 cup of water over medium-high heat in a covered pot. When the water begins to boil, add the quick cooking oats. Turn the heat down to medium-low as you continuously stir the oats for 3-5 minutes.

When the oats have thickened to the consistency of your preference, turn off the heat and stir in the maple syrup, vanilla extract, almond milk, and unsweetened coconut flakes. Then, gently fold in the chocolate bits (not the cacao nibs). Top with the pomegranate arils and cacao nibs.

As I’ve been on an oatmeal kick, as of recently, this version satisfied my oatmeal craving and included a balance of enticing flavors and textures. I’ll leave you with the words, more please.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Quick Pomegranite and Cacao Nib Oatmeal

  1. Such a beautiful idea! I love the mix of Pomengranate and the cocoa nibs, such a unique combination and no doubt nutritious & delicious!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

