Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Any Book Recommendations?

books books and more books

I admit it, I’m a nerd. I still love going to the library as much now, as I did when I was a kid (maybe even more so). For me, the library is the key to unlocking a reserve of interesting words just waiting to be brought home. This past week, I took home quite a few books, including Michael Pollan’s “Food Rules” and Alicia Silverstone’s book “The Kind Diet.” I’m ready to start doing some reading on how to go about my new vegan lifestyle, the healthy way. Do you have any must read book recommendations about healthy living or cooking/eating vegan? I’m always looking for new reading material, but any documentary recommendations are welcome too! I absolutely loved Forks Over Knives and am always hunting for interesting health-related eye-opening films.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Any Book Recommendations?

  1. Wayne Pacelle’s book The Bond is really informative and made me aware of a lot of vegan issues.

    • Thank you for the book recommendation! I hadn’t heard of Pacelle’s book before. It seems like a must read. I still don’t know much about many vegan issues besides what I’ve seen in documentaries, so this is perfect!

  2. Have you read The China Study (T. Colon Campbell), Eat To Live, or Super-Immunity (Joel Fuhrman)? Those are definitely musts for simply learning more about the health benefits of plant based diets.

  3. Have you read “Eating Animals”? I love his other books but haven’t read that one yet… Food Inc is a good film. And I love Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Vegetable Miracle – definitely not vegan, but focuses on living with an extreme awareness of where your food comes from. I’ve read it more than once.

    • I loved Food Inc. and thought it was very interesting. Eating Animals is on my list to read. I’ll have to check out his other books too. I looked up Animal Vegetable Miracle and it looks very interesting. It reminds me of the blog 100 Days of real food ( a site I love), which was about one woman’s challenge to feed her family healthy food that isn’t processed. Thank you for the recommendations!

  4. I just finished The Food Revolution by John Robbins. It is in it’s 10th anniversary this year, so although I was curious about the current trends, it was a very enjoyable, informative read. Alicia Siverstone has it as her Kind Life book club pick right now as well, so there is lots of interesting discussion happening around it. Happy Reading!

    • Thank you for the recommendation! I hadn’t heard of Food Food Revolution yet, but it looks very interesting – definitely one I want to read when I get through with my library books.

  5. Have you watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead? It’s great! Also, try the Happy Herbivore cookbooks? They are awesome resources.

    • Yes, I have watched that documentary. I found it very inspirational. It made me want a juicer, which I’m still working on getting 🙂 I haven’t heard of the Happy Herbivore cookbooks, but I’ll be sure to check them out. Thank you for the recommendations!

  6. I see that someone’s already mentioned it, but I also recommend Fuhrman’s ‘Eat to Live.’ Kathy Freston’s ‘Veganist’ is also a good read. You might also want to check out Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s podcasts – they’re awesome! She’s also written several books. Here’s a link: http://www.compassionatecook.com/
    Celeste:)

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

