Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Some Seriously Mean Green Quinoa

Mean Green Quinoa

No, your eyes are not deceiving you. That is a heart-shaped serving of quinoa. You may be wondering why? I was thinking, well why not? My grandma had also recently passed down a few cookie cutters to me. A wave of nostalgia washed over me as she handed them to me. I kept seeing flashbacks to when I was a kid. I was remembering the old copper colored jello molds she used to have and then remembering all the fun shaped jello treats I ate. I also began to think back about her old house and all the memories that were created there. Many of them centered around food.

These molds brought up wonderful thoughts of a time when molded jello really could make my day, which eventually led me to serve my mean green quinoa in the shape of a heart. As I have some new molds, you can expect more fun-shaped food in the future. What food memories come to mind when you think of your childhood?

Seriously Green Quinoa:

*Serves 2

Ingredients: 

3/4 cup of quinoa, rinsed

1 tsp of olive oil (for sauteing the veggies) + about 2 tsp for the quinoa

1/2 a red onion, diced

1 garlic clove, diced

1 zucchini diced

1 – 2 large handfuls of spinach

1/4 tsp of salt, pepper, and garlic powder

1/2 cup of cucumber, diced

1/2 tsp of dried basil or 1 tbsp of freshly diced basil

1 lemon, juiced

2 tbsp of pine nuts

Method: 

1- After rinsing the quinoa, add it to a pot with  one and a half cups of water. Heat it over medium high heat. When it begins to boil, turn down the heat to medium low and let it simmer until the water is absorbed and the quinoa is soft and fluffy.

2- While the quinoa is cooking, add the red onion to a frying pan with the olive oil. Sautee it for 3-4 minutes before adding the garlic. When the garlic begins to brown around the edges add the zucchini. Also add the spices (pepper, salt, and garlic powder) at this time. When the zucchini begins to soften, add the spinach. Take it off the heat after about 2 minutes or when the spinach has wilted down.

3- Add the extra olive oil to the quinoa (after it’s finished), as well as the basil and lemon juice. I also added a little more salt and pepper at this point. Stir well and then add in all of the veggies including the cucumber. Also throw in the pine nuts at this point, then stir and serve!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Some Seriously Mean Green Quinoa

  1. Lovely memory. Lovely plate of quinoa. 🙂

  2. I really like quinoa and I have to try to make it more than I have been.. I rotate between quinoa, rice, cous cous and potato (Although I prefer the first 3)

    • I love it too – it’s so easy to put with different flavor combinations. Cous cous is also another favorite of mine, especially since it only takes five minutes to make. I’ll have to check your blog for some cous cous recipes as I’ve been craving it!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

