Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

A Burrito Unwrapped &Topped with Chili-lime Corn Salad

Burrito Unwrapped

Earlier this week I became a proud mamma. Now, I didn’t go off and have a baby or anything crazy like that. Let’s not get carried away here (kidding to all the mothers out there). However, I did just finish planting my garden. While gardening does not require quite as much responsibility as having a child (kidding again – I know, I’m pushing my luck), but at times it does feel like I’m mothering my garden: I care about its outcome, I cherish seeing it grow, and enjoy every minute I put into it (except the weeding, that really is my least favorite part about gardening).

This may be weird, but I absolutely love the getting dirty part of having a garden. I love putting my hands in the dirt to dig or pull weeds. I don’t mind that my nails get caked with soil. For me, it’s like a badge of honor. Then slowly, but surely those plants begin to inch their way up until they’re full grown. This time of year is such an exciting time for the New England gardener. It’s a time of new growth and possibilities. Sure, there is a lack of knowing what the end result of planting a garden will be, but it’s more than worth the chance. This year, I hope to harvest more than a handful of tomatoes. Here’s to hoping anyway!

Aside from finishing my garden earlier in the week, I also made a flavorful corn salad, which was seasoned with both lime and chili powder. It was the perfect balance between both sweet and spicy. I topped my unwrapped burrito with this salad, but underneath it I tucked in some other goodies like Thom’s recipe for Vegan Mexican Roasted Potatoes, which can be found on his blog Don’t Switch Off the Light (just can’t get enough of this recipe Thom!). Lastly, I topped my wrap with a garlic-flavored black bean mash. Vegans, vegetarians, and omnivores alike would enjoy this burrito, unless of course you don’t like corn. Then it probably wouldn’t be your favorite. It is definitely a dinner recipe I will make again and again. Any repeat recipe is a winner in my book.

Burrito Unwrapped 2

Chili-lime corn salad: 

*Serves 2

Ingredients: 

2 ears of corn, boiled

1 tomato, diced

1 avocado, diced

1 clove of garlic, diced

1 tsp of extra virgin olive oil

the juice of 1/2 of a lime (or more to taste)

1/4 tsp of chili powder (or more to taste)

1/4 tsp of sea salt and freshly ground pepper

*Cilantro would also be a great addition

Method: 

1- Slice the corn off the cob by holding the cob upright and slicing down as close to the cob as possible. Roughly chop the long corn strips into pieces. Then add the rest of the ingredients and stir. Serve alone or as part of a burrito.

Garlic-flavored black bean mash: 

*Serves 2+

Ingredients: 

1 tsp of olive oil

14 ounces of black beans (or 1 can), rinsed well

1/4 tsp of sea salt, garlic powder, and freshly ground pepper

1 clove of garlic, minced

Method: 

1- Heat the olive oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. Add the black beans when the pot gets hot. After the beans are warmed, mash them with a potato masher and add the rest of the ingredients. Stir well and serve with the rest of the burrito ingredients.

What do you add to your burritos that makes you keep coming back for more?

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “A Burrito Unwrapped &Topped with Chili-lime Corn Salad

  1. Oh I love your gardening enthusiasm! I’m a novice gardener and am a bit lazy at it (!) . I want the finished product but not the work to get there! I’ve just planted lots of yummy stuff a couple days ago and am crossing everything that they work/I don’t kill them! Yummy looking burrito too! 🙂

  2. Thanks and I think I have made the Vegan Mexican Roasted Potatoes many times and I have had no complaints… Love your recipe too. There is something magically for me about the taste of chilli, lime, corn and beans combined 🙂

    • They work so well with grilled foods, Mexican dishes, and as a side dish for breakfast. I just can’t get enough of them. I’ve also tried the recipe with sweet potatoes/yams and that was good too! I agree that the flavors of lime and chili pair well. I’ve been trying that combination out a lot lately and I especially liked it in the corn salad 🙂

      • I nave not tried grilled before sounds like a good idea to try that 😉 love the salad too. I can understand you saying you can’t get enough of them. ;). That’s a good sign 😉

  3. This sounds delicious — I am thinking about making it for dinner tonight!!

  4. Pingback: Roasted Chickpeas With a Spice Rub Topped with a Sweet Corn Salad and a Mixed CD Rediscovered | Better Bites

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

