Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Sweet & Spicy Mango Salsa and a Small, Personal Running Victory

Mango Salsa

As the word “start” boomed from the speakers, hundreds of women lurched forwards toward the starting line of the Red Dress Run. At the beginning of the race, the 90 degree heat didn’t phase the many runners. Women were moving swiftly past the starting line and through the beautiful park setting.

I passed the many multicolored roses in bloom, but I was more focused more on my pace, which was slow, but steady. This was, after all, my first week of returning to running.

A few years back I ran frequently, nearly everyday. There wasn’t a situation that could stop me. I ran in the rain, heat, and the cold. Then, winter happened and it was too cold for me. As I hibernated inside with a cozy blanket, I got away from exercising and running.

Years have passed and I have run on and off (mostly off), but I’m happy to be running again. I haven’t felt this good about myself in a long time. Running is action. I like that I’m finally moving again. I’m working towards a goal and becoming healthier.

I finished in the middle of the group, but for me, it was more about finishing than my race time. After a session of cramming in runs all week to try to prepare (as I found out about the race late and wanted to participate), I ran across the finish line wearing a smile. I was tired and hot, but mostly, I felt good. Running felt right.

Running something I want to keep as a part my life and in my daily routine, just like cooking (which I love). On July 4th I decided to experiment with a mango to make a refreshing salsa for a family pool party I was invited to attend. In one bite I tasted the flavors of the cooling cucumber, the spicy diced jalapeno, the mango which was slightly sweet, and the lemon juice and olive oil which tied the flavors in the fresh salsa together.

Mango Salsa 2

Sweet & Spicy Mango Salsa: 

*Yields about 3 cups of salsa

Ingredients:

1 small-medium cucumber, diced (about 1 cup)

1 mango, diced (try to use as much of the mango flesh as possible)

1/4 cup of red onion, diced

1 medium jalapeno, diced finely

2 tablespoons of fresh parsley, diced

2 cloves of garlic, diced finely

1 lemon, juiced

1 1/2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp of salt and pepper

*Another possible addition to this salsa could be an avocado, which would add a creamy texture.

Method:

After dicing all of the veggies and fruits (not too large), then combine them in a mixing bowl. Mix the ingredients including the parsley and garlic. Then add the lemon juice, olive oil, and spices. Mix again and let sit in the fridge until serving (the longer it sits the more the flavors will blend together). Serve after about 15-30 minutes of chilling.  Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

