Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Veganism, Take Two and Making Conscious Decisions

Goji berry crunch

There is nothing wrong with being a little crunchy. Vegan granola at it’s best: chocolate goji berry granola.

After partaking in an indulgent weekend in Boston with my boisterous Italian family, I’ve realized one choice I’m finished wavering on. I want to eat a plant-based diet, forgoing all animal products.

Each time I’ve take a bite of something decadent, like the homemade ice cream I ate this weekend (which was full of melt-in-your mouth vanilla goodness, as well as eggs, milk, heavy cream, and white sugar), I have pangs of guilt and regret. Eating these foods makes me think about the artery-clogging  cholesterol in these tasty, but rich and unhealthy foods.

Eating this way also doesn’t quite match my moral compass, which has been a bit off lately. I’m ready to get back on track and eat vegan. I don’t care if I’m viewed as crazy or extreme by family members, friends, or outsiders. I realize now how important this decision is for me. It is what I want at my core and that is something I can’t deny. All I need to know is that it isn’t extreme and eating a plant-based diet is what I feel right doing.

As Gretchen Rubin would say, it isn’t about feeling good or feeling bad, it is about feeling right. Eating this way, is the only way I truly feel “right.” I hope you’re doing what’s right for you, as veganism is not for everyone. We are all different and that is okay. That is what makes people unique. It is just what’s right for me. I am open to hearing about other lifestyles and I certainly used to live one. Now, I have just become more conscious about what I want to put into my body. No more of the mozzarella stick and snicker bar dinners that I enjoyed in college so many years ago. It’s now kale and smoothies all the way.

Cheers to doing what you feel is right. What has influenced you to make the lifestyle and dietary choices that you do or have in the past?

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Veganism, Take Two and Making Conscious Decisions

  1. Hi and thank you for stopping by! your blog looks wonderful and I am already a big fan of this recipe.

  2. Love this post! And to address the question at the end of your post, I base my dietary choices on my health. I was constantly sick and it was suggested to me to try a more plant-based diet to see if it would make a difference. I did and I felt fantastic! I truly believe it makes a huge difference to your health 🙂

    • My choice is mainly based on my health as well. I agree with you – how I eat has a direct effect on how I feel. I’m glad a mostly plant-based diet has helped you to feel better! For me, a plant-based diet makes me feel both physically and mentally healthy. I don’t have any feelings of regret eating that way, nor do I ever feel sick from it or like I’ve over indulged. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

