Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Baba Ganoush

baba ganoush

After a relaxing summer break, tomorrow is officially my first day back at work. Slowly, but surely, September has been creeping up on me. Now it’s here and I’m a bit nervous about tomorrow. My outfit has been picked out, my lunch was packed, my bags are by the door, and my keys are in the fridge on top of my lunch as a reminder.

Everything in this house is screaming “It’s time to go back!,” but me that is. My head is still in summer mode. It’s slowly realizing that summer is nearly over, but it isn’t quite there yet. Tomorrow will a reality check for my head anyways. I’m feeling a lot of excitement, but a bit of nervousness too.

It’s almost like I’m a school girl again with feelings of anxiety about what the first day will bring. I remember thinking “Will I have friends in my class?” and “Will my teacher be nice?” Now that the roles are reversed, I still have butterflies in my stomach. They will all be done fluttering at about 8:30 tomorrow morning, when I can finally relax and face the year ahead with open arms and a clear head.

Baba ganoush, was one more recipe I wanted to cross off my recipe to do list before the summer was over. This version was creamy like hummus, but the flavors of cumin and eggplant were the most predominant (they were balanced out by the tangy flavor of the lemon).

Baba Ganoush:

Makes 1-2 cups of baba ganoush

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of eggplant, peeled and cubed

1 tbsp of olive oil

1/4 tsp of salt, pepper, and garlic powder

1/2 tsp of cumin

1 tsp of oregano

2 tbsp of tahini

1 lemon juiced

1 clove of garlic, diced

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Then peel and dice the eggplant. Add it to a baking pan, sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, and oregano. Drizzle the olive oil over the top of the eggplant. Mix by hand to ensure all of the spices and olive oil are evenly distributed. Then cover the pan with foil and stick it in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until the eggplant is cooked through.

After the eggplant is cooked, let it cool for 10 to 15 minutes before adding it to the food processor. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend on high until the baba ganoush is somewhat smooth in consistency. Serve with pitas, veggies, or crackers. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baba Ganoush

  1. Yummm! I never made this befote but tasted it several times! 🙂 I will use my home grown aubergines here! 😉 MMMMMMMM!

Leave a Reply

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

GMO Free Girl

Changing The Way You Eat One Bite At A Time

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

the vegan kitchen of dr caligari

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Potatoes & Social Change

Real Food. Wellness. Simplicity

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

No Whey No Cow

Celebrating life without the forkin' meat!

