Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Almond Joy Granola

Almond joy granola 1

I’ll keep this post as short and sweet as the granola recipe that follows. Lately, it’s been like my life (outside of work) has been sucked up by a vacuum. I had the entire summer to enjoy each of my hobbies, but with the start of the school year my free time has vanished. Lately I’ve been trying to make more time for myself.

On the bright side, my students have been using a math strategy I taught them. I noticed them using it one morning when they were doing the problems of the day. It was like a light bulb went off in my head. Something stuck with them. Even the little things that are taught, stick with them. The feeling of seeing them use what they learned independently, was nearly indescribable. Until the next light bulb moment happens, there is always almond joy granola, which is possibly my new favorite granola recipe (and when I say possibly I mean definitely because anything almond joy flavored is amazing – unless you hate coconut and then it’s less than amazing, but I’m not one of those coconut haters and therefore it’s delicious).

almond joy granola 2

Almond Joy Granola:

*Makes about 4 cups of granola

Ingredients:

2 cups of rolled oats

1/3 cup of walnuts, chopped

1/3 cup of almonds, chopped

2/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

4 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp of cocoa powder

1 tsp of vanilla

1/4 tsp of almond extract

Method:

1- To make the almond-flavored granola:

  • Mix together: 1 cup of rolled oats, the chopped almonds, and the coconut flakes. Then, in a separate bowl mix these liquid ingredients: 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 1 tablespoon of melted coconut oil, and the almond extract. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix until the oats are well coated.

2- To make the chocolate-flavored granola:

  • Mix together: 1 cup of rolled oats, the chopped walnuts, the coconut flakes, and cocoa powder. Then, in a separate bowl mix these liquid ingredients: 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 1 tablespoon of melted coconut oil, and the vanilla extract. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix until the oats are well coated.

3- Add each mixture of granola to a baking sheet – keeping the two variations separate during baking (I put both on one baking pan, but kept the chocolate on one half and the almond granola on the other half). Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the almond granola begins to turn golden brown around the edges of the pan.

4- Let the granola cool for about 25-30 minutes before serving with your favorite type of milk. Store in an airtight container. When I made this granola it lasted for about 4-5 days in an airtight container. Enjoy!

Almond joy granola 3

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Almond Joy Granola

  1. Hello, I’ve been wanting to make granola for when I get the munchies and I like your ingredient list but maybe I’m missing something here.. I can’t find the method for making this granola!

  2. I think, I love you now! What a tasty combined special granola! A must make! I think you will love my granola too,..http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/sophies-vegan-gluten-free-granola/

Leave a comment

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

My little jar of spices

Putting the delicious in healthy eating: gluten-free and paleo inspired recipes

Safe Eats

Educating, Cooking and Baking - To Include Everyone