Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

A Fried Green Tomato Sandwich with Pesto and Confessions of a Dog Mom

Fried Green Tomato Sandwich

Each night when I arrive home, I feel like a celebrity. My little fans try to paw their way through the door as soon as they hear the key. While Max and Layla are tiny (11 and 13 pounds), somehow they manage to jump up near the height of my face (which I suppose isn’t terribly difficult since I’m only five feet tall). It’s as if they’re hiding a little invisible trampoline beneath their furry feet.

In between trying to get my attention by jumping as high as possible, I get pawed and whined at. It’s as if they’re saying “Mom, what about me? Look at me. Look at me.” At some point, Layla even dances on two feet.

I am greeted with the same enthusiasm each morning when I lift the lock to their crate. They bounce up and down as I stumble around the house trying to get ready for the morning. Usually, by the time I’m ready to leave the house we’ve switched roles. They’re snuggled up on my bed without any motivation to get up as I’m running out the door on the way to work.

Max and Layla 2

I almost have as much excitement for this pesto sandwich as my dogs have for me when I arrive home each day. While the season for tomatoes has passed in the Northeast, green or yellow heirloom tomatoes will work for this recipe. Enjoy!

A Pesto and Friend Green Tomato Sandwich

*Serves 2

Ingredients:

1-2 tbsp of olive oil

2-3 green tomatoes, sliced about 1/4 inch thick

1 cup of Italian style breadcrumbs

1 bell pepper, roasted and cut into strips (I just roasted mine in the toaster oven until it was soft – for about 10-15 minutes)

1 avocado, halved, pitted, and sliced

1/4 cup of pesto

4 slices of freshly baked bread

Method:

Heat the olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. After slicing the tomatoes, coat each side with breadcrumbs. Place them in the frying pan until the side in the oil turns golden brown (2-3 minutes). Then, flip each slice and let the other side brown.

After frying the tomatoes, toast the slices of bread. Then spread each slice with pesto. Top with tomato, pepper, and avocado slices. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment

Eat Fit to Live

Healthy Living the Mediterranean Way

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Eat,live,burp

Tried and tasted recipes from my kitchen to yours

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Saucy Pans

Food Reviews and Recipes around Bristol & Cardiff

liveng proof

to inspire a fit & healthy lifestyle

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

ninjamonkeyguk

A fine WordPress.com site

Sugarfree Sweetheart

an illustrated diabetic-friendly food blog

crazyrawlife

life, raw: unprepared or imperfectly prepared for use... not in a polished, finished, or processed form. global adventures.nourishing practices xx

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

My little jar of spices

Putting the delicious in healthy eating: gluten-free and paleo inspired recipes

Safe Eats

Educating, Cooking and Baking - To Include Everyone